My First Challenge

1 Apr

It’s April 1st, so it would make sense to start my first challenge today, right?

As I mentioned in my opening post, I will be focussing on three topics during my challenges:

  • Get my finances in order
  • Get in shape and improve my health
  • Improve my status at my firm

For my first challenge I will focus on the first two, Finances and Health as I believe those will both reduce my stress level which should translate naturally into basic improvements at my firm.

First the finances:

After all my fixed expenses, rent, phone, cable/internet, Netflix, etc. I have about $475 a week of extra money that I can spend.  Shouldn’t be too hard to sock away some money, right?  Well I have struggled with that my whole life, through just wreckless spending.  I enjoy going out with friends and having a good time as I believe most people do.  This has unfortunately taken a toll on my savings.  It’s time for me to buckle down as I’m interested in buying a condo in the next two years.

I’m going to set a meager goal over these next 6 weeks.  I am going to save $1,500.  That’s $250 a week.  This means I can average spending $32.14 a day in personal indulgence.  What’s my plan?  During the week I plan to stay in and read/study and workout more.  The biggest torpedo to my saving money in the past has been going out with friends for dinner and drinks after work.  If I cut that out I figure this goal will be no problem.

Second, getting in shape:

I lifted weights today and was shocked at the amount of muscle I had lost:

  • Bent over row: 3 sets of 10 at 35lbs each dumbbell
  • Chest Fly: 3 sets of 10 at 35lbs each dumbbell
  • Bicep Curls: 3 sets of 10 at 20lbs each dumbbell

My goal is to improve both the back and chest exercises by 15lbs over these six weeks and the bicep curls by 10lbs while maintaining the amount of sets and reps.

I am also training for the Pan Mass Challenge an amazing event to raise money for The Jimmy Fund.  I recently purchased a road bike, a 2011 Trek 1.5, to assist me in my journey.  I plan to ride a total of 150 miles including one ride of 30 miles or more over the next six weeks.  It is still cold in Boston so I will use a stationary bike to assist me in achieving my goal on days when mother nature doesn’t comply.

I plan to write updates on my training on Wednesday nights and updates on my finances on Sunday mornings.  Next Sunday I will show you my strategies of an easy way I’ve developed to tracking my finances on a weekly basis.  My strategy is basic and more of a broad overview of I spent X today therefore I saved Y.  In the past I have developed elaborate spreadsheets that breakdown exactly what I spent, where, the date, it was overbearing and honestly, too much detail.

Next post in 3 days!

Leave a Reply

